Libertarian Party of Montgomery County, Texas


[WWW]Libertarian Party of Montgomery County, Texas

The county party was first formed May 1, 1982, in Conroe, "around a card table in Ron Hard's yard," according to the party's Web site. The county fielded candidates in various races, but by the late 1980s, the party had become inactive.

In September 1992, then-Libertarian Presidential candidate Andre Marrou spoke at Rice University in Houston. Montgomery County residents Ken and Lori Gaillot and Phil and Roxie Moser attended and decide to form a county chapter of the party. Ken Gaillot wrote a proposal to reactivate the LPMC, and the official formation was held October 22, 1992, at the Montgomery County Courthouse in Conroe, with 1990 LP Texas gubernatorial candidate Jeff Daiell as the keynote speaker.

As a reporter for the Conroe Courier, Lori Gaillot wrote several articles on the Libertarian Party and related events from 1992 and 1994. County party members also wrote letters to the editor which were published in the newspaper.

In May 1993, Thomas Rush ran for Magnolia Independent School District Board of Trustees, getting 46% of the vote in a strong showing against the incumbent board chair.

In July 1993, the county party participated in the Woodlands Independence Day parade, and Rush began his nationwide Not a Penny More campaign to cut the federal budget.

In May 1994, Ruble Scarborough ran for Conroe city council, getting 319 votes against incumbent Bobby Cantrell's 1,496. Thomas Rush ran again for Magnolia Independent School District Board, getting 190 votes (35%) against incumbent Mike Souriall.

In August 1994, Ken and Lori Gaillot moved out of state.

In November 2004, in a three-way race for U.S. Congress District 8, Libertarian Paul Hansen, a Marine serving in Iraq, received 3,705 votes against incumbent Republican Kevin Brady (179,599 votes) and Democrat James Wright (77,324 votes). In the Texas State Representative District 15 race, Ross Stevenson received 5,753 votes (9.24 percent) against Republican Rob Eissler's 56,445 votes (90.75 percent).